Although marijuana has been legalized in many places and is a popular recreational drug, it is still illegal in Virginia. A first offense in Virginia carries up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $500, plus a criminal record. Do not hire a lawyer whose first instinct is to get you first offender status or strike some other deal. Even the most simple fact patterns involving marijuana typically involve numerous constitutional issues. Did the police violate your right against unreasonable search and seizure? Did the police coerce an unlawful confession out of you? Hire a constitutional scholar who knows and teaches constitutional law. A careful review of the facts surrounding the charge can sometimes lead to the marijuana or your statements not being admitted in court.